Monday, July 28, 2014
CCSD PD collects 200 pounds of medications

Local officials say prescription drug abuse is increasing among young people. To help address the problem, the CCSD Police Department held a “Pill Take Back Day” on Saturday, July 26, at Sierra Vista High School. At the event, 200 pounds of medications were turned in, the highest amount of any of the collections the department has held. Since the start of the year, the CCSD Police Department has received and taken more than 500 pounds of medications out of circulation.

Category: general

Friday, July 25, 2014
Submit your questions for the next School Matters

The next School Matters will air Thursday, Aug. 21, 2014 at 7:30 p.m. on Vegas PBS, Ch. 10. Hosted by Nate Tannenbaum (pictured), the show will feature a panel consisting of Trustee Patrice Tew, Trustee Deanna L. Wright, Superintendent Pat Skorkowsky and Chief Innovation and Productivity Officer Jhone Ebert. The half-hour program will focus on back-to-school, with CCSD classes set to resume Monday, Aug. 25. To submit your questions for the Aug. 21 School Matters, go to

Category: general

Wednesday, July 23, 2014
July 31 is deadline to apply for State Board of Education Review Team

The Nevada Department of Education is accepting applications from members of the general public who are interested in being considered for appointment to a team that will review the state’s educator preparation programs. The review team will be appointed by the Nevada State Board of Education at its next meeting on Aug. 14. The review team must include:

  • One representative from a public educational institution in Nevada which offers a course of study and training for the education of teachers or other educational personnel;
  • One representative from a private educational institution in Nevada which offers a course of study and training for the education of teachers or other educational personnel
  • At least one licensed teacher
  • At least one representative of a local school district
  • One member of the Board
  • And ... one member of the general public

To apply, submit a letter of interest to by July 31, 2014. The letter should include a description of the professional position, experience and areas of expertise of the person interested in appointment. For more information, call (702) 668-4320.

Category: general

Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Superintendent reorganizes several CCSD departments

As reported by KSNV-TV, "Clark County School District Superintendent Pat Skorkowsky announced a reorganization of several district departments to direct more time and resources to two key areas of focus: professional development for teachers and administrators, and services to support English language acquisition."

Category: general

Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Superintendent discusses reorganization of several CCSD departments

In his comments about the recently announced reorganization of several CCSD departments, Superintendent Pat Skorkowsky said, "We know that putting a quality teacher in each classroom is the best way to increase student achievement. The Board of School Trustees has directed our district to provide the right training and support to our teachers and enhance instruction in the classroom. This reorganization also aligns our work to provide support for students working toward English language acquisition." Click here for more information.

Category: general

Monday, July 21, 2014
North Las Vegas offers information on its Safekey program

North Las Vegas is among the local municipalities offering Safekey during the school year. The city’s Recreation Department describes the program as a “recreational enrichment program for children, designed to meet the needs of the working parent.” Like other Safekey programs, it corresponds with the CCSD calendar. For details, call (702) 633-1608.

Category: general

Friday, July 18, 2014
Immunizations available at back to school fairs

The Southern Nevada Health District (SNHD) will provide immunizations at the following Back to School Fairs:

  • Meadows Mall – Saturday, Aug. 9, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Boulevard Mall – Saturday, Aug. 16, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Galleria at Sunset – Saturday, Aug. 23, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Administrative fees for shots range from $16 to $25. Some shots may have other fees. Parents/guardians will need to bring their child’s shot records and Medicaid or Nevada CheckUp card, if applicable.  For more information, visit or call (702) 759-0850.

Category: general

Friday, July 18, 2014
State of Nevada encourages bicycle safety

The Nevada Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Education Program aims to prevent injuries to children and adults from bicycle and pedestrian crashes by training them with the knowledge and skills needed to be competent and safe in traffic. Click here for more information.

Category: general

Friday, July 18, 2014
Radio interview focuses on homelessness

Hundreds of families in Clark County are homeless.  According to KNPR, “The Clark County School District estimates that as many as 9,000 students don't have a stable place to live.”

Category: general