AGENDA CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES <u>ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION</u> EDWARD A. GREER EDUCATION CENTER, BOARD ROOM 2832 EAST FLAMINGO ROAD, LAS VEGAS, NV 89121 TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 9:30 A.M.

Note: In conformance with the Open Meeting Law, it is hereby noted that the agenda for the meeting of the Clark County School District Board of School Trustees, Attendance Zone Advisory Commission, has been posted at the following locations:

Boulder City Library	Moapa Valley Library
Green Valley Library	Mount Charleston Library
Indian Springs Library	North Las Vegas Library
Laughlin Library	Sandy Valley Library
Mesquite Library	Sandy Valley Middle School
Moapa Town Library	West Charleston Library
Moapa Valley High School Library	West Las Vegas Library
Edward A. Greer Education Center	Whitney Library
Clark County School District Administrative Center	
Clark County School District Web site - www.ccsd.net	

Roll Call:	Albert Delgado, Chair	Zan Hyer, Member	Cyndy Mahoney, Member
	Anna Slighting, Vice Chair	Brian Krall, Member	Mike Malone, Member
	Nicole Benson, Member	Shari Lyman, Member	Marisol Montoya-Herrera, Member
	Natalie Carter, Member	Socorro Macias, Member	Becky Nielson, Member
	JoAnne Foutz, Member	Lois Mack, Member	Jose Solorio, Member

Patrice Tew, Board of School Trustee Liaison

The Attendance Zone Advisory Commission may take items on the agenda out of order; may combine two or more agenda items for consideration; and may remove an item from the agenda or delay discussion relating to items on the agenda at any time.

The meeting agenda and any reference material are available for viewing electronically at http://www.boarddocs.com/nv/ccsdlv/Board.nsf/Public under the Meetings tab. In addition, members of the public may request a copy of the agenda and reference material for the meeting by contacting Cindy Krohn at the Office of the Board of Trustees at (702) 799-1072. A copy of the agenda and reference materials are also available at the public meeting.

Members of the public requiring special assistance or accommodations at the meeting, including translators for Spanish and other languages, are requested to contact Bianka Alvarez at 4190 McLeod Drive, Las Vegas, NV or by calling (702) 799-6430, Ext. 5808, at least 24 hours in advance.

THE VISION OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES
All students will graduate from high school having the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and values necessary to achieve academically, prosper economically, and contribute in a diverse global society.

The Attendance Zone Advisory Commission recognizes that its deliberative process benefits greatly from public input and perspective. Those wishing to address the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission may sign up to speak by calling the Demographics, Zoning and GIS office at (702) 799-6430 during regular business hours and at least 3 hours prior to the scheduled start of the meeting. Alternatively, speakers may sign up in person immediately prior to the beginning of the meeting. Prior to each agenda item being voted on, members of the public are allowed to speak on the item after the Commission's discussion and prior to their vote. Customarily, speakers will be called in the order in which they signed up. No person may sign up for another individual. No person may yield his or her time to another person. Generally, a person wishing to speak on agenda items will be allowed 3 minutes to address the Commission.

- 1.01 FLAG SALUTE.
- 1.02 ROLL CALL.
- 1.03 ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

2.01 PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD. Should a member of the public wish to speak on matters not listed on the agenda, they may speak during the Public Comment Period. Speakers will be given 2 minutes to address the Commission during this time. Public comment during this agenda item shall not exceed 20 minutes. If there are still members of the public wishing to address the Commission after the allotted time of 20 minutes, they will be able to address the Commission during agenda item 4.01 Public Comment Period. The public should be aware that the Commission is unable to deliberate or take action on the items raised during the Public Comment Period.

3. ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION

- 3.01 APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES. Discussion and possible action on the approval of the minutes of November 7, 2013. [Contact Person: Rick Baldwin] (Reference material may be provided.)
- 3.02 INFORMATIONAL REPORTS. Possible discussion on requested information. [Contact Person: Rick Baldwin]
- 3.03 SCENARIOS FOR FOCUS AREA M1 FOR SECONDARY SCHOOLS. Discussion and possible action on the scenarios to evaluate the existing attendance boundaries of the following schools: Ernest Becker Middle School, Sig Rogich Middle School and Walter Johnson Junior High School. [Contact Person: Rick Baldwin] (Reference material will be provided.) (Ref. 3.03)
- 3.04 SCENARIOS FOR FOCUS AREA E1 FOR ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS. Discussion and possible action on the scenarios to evaluate the existing attendance boundaries of the following schools: John W. Bonner Elementary School, Linda Rankin Givens Elementary School, Clarence Piggott Elementary School, William Lummis Elementary School, and Ethel W. Staton Elementary School. [Contact Person: Rick Baldwin] (Reference material will be provided.) (Ref. 3.04)

3. ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION (continued)

- 3.05 SCENARIOS FOR FOCUS AREA E4 FOR ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS. Discussion and possible action on the scenarios to evaluate the existing attendance boundaries of the following schools: John C. Bass Elementary School, Selma F. Bartlett Elementary School, John R. Beatty Elementary School, Roberta C. Cartwright Elementary School, David Cox Elementary School, Roger Gehring Elementary School, John R. Hummel Elementary School, Frank Lamping Elementary School, Aggie Roberts Elementary School, Steve Schorr Elementary School, Glen Taylor Elementary School, Neil Twitchell Elementary School, John Vanderburg Elementary School, Shirley and Bill Wallin Elementary School, and Elise L. Wolff Elementary School. (Ref. 3.05)
- 3.06 SCENARIOS FOR FOCUS AREA E5 FOR ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS. Discussion and possible action on the scenarios to evaluate the existing attendance boundaries of the following schools: Steve Cozine Elementary School, Raul P. Elizondo Elementary School, Addeliar Guy Elementary School, Jesse D. Scott Elementary School, John Tartan Elementary School, Fredric W. Watson Elementary School, and Eva Wolfe Elementary School. [Contact Person: Rick Baldwin] (Reference material will be provided.) (Ref. 3.06)
- 3.07 CALENDAR, DATES, AND TIMES. Discussion and possible action on upcoming meetings, dates, and times. [Contact Person: Rick Baldwin]

4. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

- 4.01 PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD. Should a member of the public wish to speak on matters not listed on the agenda, they may speak during the Public Comment Period. Speakers will be given 2 minutes to address the Commission. The public should be aware that the Commission is unable to deliberate or take action on the items raised during the Public Comment Period.
- 5. ADJOURN.