MINUTES - AS IS 3/17/15

CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT
SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES
ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION
EDWARD A. GREER EDUCATION CENTER, BOARD ROOM

2832 E. FLAMINGO ROAD, LAS VEGAS, NV 89121

JOINT MEETING WITH THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES

Members Absent

Zan Hyer

Lois Mack

<u>February 26, 2014</u> 5:35 p.m.

Roll Call: Members Present

Albert Delgado
Anna Slighting
Nicole Benson
Natalie Carter
JoAnne Foutz
Brian Krall
Shari Lyman

Cyndy Mahoney Mike Malone

Marisol Montoya-Herrera (arrived at 5:55 pm)

Becky Nielson Jose Solorio

> <u>Demographics, Zoning & GIS</u> Rick Baldwin, Director II

FLAG SALUTE

This meeting was conducted simultaneously by the Clark County School District Board of School Trustees and the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission. The Board of School Trustees opened their meeting first then opened it up for the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

A motion was made to adopt the agenda as is.

Motion: Cyndy Mahoney Second: Becky Nielson Vote: Unanimous, Motion Passed

Zan Hyer, Lois Mack, and Marisol Montoya-Herrera were not present to vote.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

None.

SCHOOL ZONING FOR THE 2014-2015 SCHOOL YEAR FROM LINDA RANKIN GIVENS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TO WILLIAM LUMMIS AND CLARENCE PIGGOTT ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS.

Public Hearing

Sarah McCoy, parent, Givens Elementary, expressed her concerns with the recommendation. She stated that it would be detrimental to Givens Elementary School placing it in danger of being placed on a year-round calendar and in jeopardy of losing its full-day kindergarten program.

Carolee Frost, parent, Givens Elementary, said she would like to postpone Givens Elementary School being placed on a year-round calendar for as long as possible. She requested if Givens Elementary School is on the list for possible year-round conversion that the community be given another opportunity for rezoning and not automatically convert to a year-round calendar.

Kelli Mendenhall, parent, Givens Elementary, spoke in opposition to the recommendation. She said it did not address the overcrowding at Givens or Bonner Elementary Schools.

Discussion by the Board of School Trustees on the guidelines for rezoning a school for two consecutive years. They asked if the regulation would apply if the rezoning area involved no students.

Carlos McDade, General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel, gave his interpretation of CCSD Regulation 7111. Mr. McDade said if the school attendance boundary is changed this year, then AZAC and the Board should consider the stability of that school and not change it for two years, but it is not a prohibition.

Trustee Edwards expressed her opposition for leapfrog zoning. She feels that leapfrog zoning will not resolve Givens Elementary School issues and stated she would not be in support of the motion.

Albert Delgado said that it was his understanding that the intent of this recommendation is that there would be a possibility of reviewing this area again next year.

Motion by the Board of School Trustees to accept the recommendation to reassign the area as described from Linda Rankin Givens Elementary School to William Lummis and Clarence Piggott Elementary Schools as reflected on agenda item 3.01.

Motion: Trustee Wright Second: Trustee Corbett Vote: 6-1, Motion Passed

SCHOOL ZONING FOR THE 2014-2015 SCHOOL YEAR FROM HENRY AND EVELYN BOZARTH ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TO JAMES BILBRAY AND WILLIAM AND MARY SCHERKENBACH ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS; FROM SANDRA L. THOMPSON ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TO JAMES BILBRAY AND WILLIAM AND MARY SCHERKENBACH ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS; FROM HENRY AND EVELYN BOZARTH ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TO SANDRA L. THOMPSON ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; FROM HENRY AND EVELYN BOZARTH ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TO MARSHALL C. DARNELL ELMENTARY SCHOOL; AND FROM MARSHALL C. DARNELL ELEMENTARY SCHOOL.

Public Hearing

Lee Raley, parent, Bozarth Elementary, opposed the recommendation. He stated his family moved into this area to be close to Bozarth Elementary School. Mr. Raley expressed concern for extending the distance his child would be traveling to get to school and that it would take him out of his neighborhood.

Anna Slighting discussed how the recommendation was developed. She said Bozarth Elementary School is overcrowded and had already eliminated their full-day kindergarten program to alleviate some of the overcrowding. Mrs. Slighting stated that this area is a high growth area.

Motion by the Board of School Trustees to accept the recommendation to reassign the area as described from Henry and Evelyn Bozarth Elementary School to James Bilbray and William and Mary Scherkenbach Elementary Schools; from Sandra L. Thompson Elementary School to James Bilbray and William and Mary Scherkenbach Elementary Schools; from Henry and Evelyn Bozarth Elementary School to Sandra L. Thompson Elementary School; from Henry and Evelyn Bozarth Elementary School to Marshall C. Darnell Elementary School to Dean LaMar Allen Elementary School, as reflected on agenda items 3.02-3.06.

Motion: Trustee Garvey Second: Trustee Corbett Vote: Unanimous, Motion Passed

SCHOOL ZONING FOR THE 2014-2015 SCHOOL YEAR FROM HOWARD E. HECKETHORN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TO BETSY RHODES ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; FROM JOSEPH M. NEAL ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TO BETSY RHODES ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; AND FROM VINCENT L. TRIGGS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TO HOWARD E. HECKETHORN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL.

Public Hearing None.

Motion by the Board of School Trustees to accept the recommendation to reassign the area as described from Howard E. Heckethorn Elementary School to Betsy Rhodes Elementary School; from Joseph M. Neal Elementary School to Betsy Rhodes Elementary School; and from Vincent L. Triggs Elementary School to Howard E. Heckethorn Elementary School, as reflected on agenda items 3.07 – 3.09. Motion: Trustee Wright Second: Trustee Young Vote: Unanimous, Motion Passed

SCHOOL ZONING FOR THE 2014-2015 SCHOOL YEAR FROM SIG ROGICH MIDDLE SCHOOL TO WALTER JOHNSON JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL.

Public Hearing

Sheila Salahan spoke in support of the recommendation.

John Capps, parent, Rogich Middle School, stated the problem is in the zone variances that have been allowed and asked why those were not addressed.

Trustee Edwards reiterated her concerns with leapfrog zoning. She stated she would not be in support of the motion.

Motion by the Board of School Trustees to accept the recommendation to reassign the area as described from Sig Rogich Middle School to Walter Johnson Junior High School, as reflected on agenda item 3.10. Motion: Trustee Young Second: Trustee Wright Vote: 6-1, Motion Passed

SCHOOL ZONING FOR THE 2014-2015 SCHOOL YEAR FROM ARBOR VIEW HIGH SCHOOL TO SHADOW RIDGE HIGH SCHOOL.

Public Hearing None.

Motion by the Board of School Trustees to accept the recommendation to reassign the area as described from Arbor View High School to Shadow Ridge High School, as reflected on item 3.11.

Motion: Trustee Corbett Second: Trustee Garvey Vote: Unanimous, Motion Passed

The Board of School Trustees thanked the AZAC members and the Demographics, Zoning, and GIS Department for their commitment and their work.

Albert Delgado thanked the Board of School Trustees and the Superintendent for their appreciation. He also thanked the rest of the AZAC members, Rick Baldwin, and staff for their work.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD None.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 7:02 p.m.

Motion: Mike Malone Second: JoAnne Foutz Vote: Unanimous, Motion Passed

Zan Hyer and Lois Mack were not present to vote.