MINUTES- AS IS 1/23/18

CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION SHADOW RIDGE HIGH SCHOOL, THEATER 5050 BRENT LANE, LAS VEGAS, NV 89131

January 16, 2018 6:00 p.m.

Members Present

Albert Delgado

Dave Flatt

Angela Haldeman (arrived at 6:03 p.m.)

Diane Kinsel

Shari Lyman

Cyndy Mahoney (arrived at 6:10 p.m.)

Mike Malone Becky Nielson

Matthew Tramp

Rachel Wren

Demographics, Zoning & GIS

Rick Baldwin, Director II

Tracy Murphy, Coordinator IV

Steve Burda, Coordinator III

Transportation

Ray Negrete, GIS Coordinator IV

Marcelo Valenzuela, Transportation Operations Manager

Cameron Hasse, Transportation GIS Technician

FLAG SALUTE

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Adoption of the agenda for January 16, 2018.

Motion: Matthew Tramp Second: Dave Flatt Vote: Unanimous

Nicole Benson, David Gomez, Angela Haldeman, Mallory Levins, Lois Mack, Cyndy Mahoney, and Glen Olsen were

not present to vote.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

None.

INTRODUCTIONS

Rick Baldwin introduced AZAC commissioners, Clark County School District staff and Trustee Lola Brooks. Mr. Baldwin gave a brief presentation of the AZAC rules, regulations and public input process.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposals to establish an attendance boundary for the new Kenneth Divich Elementary School opening 2018 at Farm Road and Jensen Street and adjust the attendance zone boundaries of James Bilbray/William and Mary Scherkenbach, Henry and Evelyn Bozarth, Marshall C. Darnell, and Sandra L. Thompson Elementary Schools.

Members Absent

Nicole Benson

David Gomez

Mallory Levins

Lois Mack Glen Olsen

PUBLIC INPUT

Eleven parents from Bozarth Elementary School spoke in favor of Proposal 2. One parent from Darnell Elementary School stated appreciation that neither proposal required students to cross Elkhorn Road.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposal to eliminate the attendance boundary of Ruth Fyfe Elementary School closing at the end of 2017 – 2018 school year and to adjust the attendance boundaries of E. W. Griffith, Doris M. Reed, and Vegas Verdes Elementary Schools.

PUBLIC INPUT

Dina Meyer, Assistant Principal of Griffith Elementary School, stated agreement with the proposal and concern that transportation be available to students moving to their temporary site on the Fyfe Elementary School campus.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposal to adjust the attendance zone boundaries of Don E. Hayden/Ruby Duncan and Vincent L. Triggs Elementary Schools.

PUBLIC INPUT

None.

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposal to eliminate the attendance boundary of Lied Middle School in order to establish the Lied STEM Academy (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) magnet program, and to adjust the attendance boundaries of Brian and Teri Cram, Anthony Saville, and Theron L. Swainston Middle Schools.

PUBLIC INPUT

Five parents of current fifth grade students reassigned to Swainston Middle School objected to the reassignment and to only one proposal being provided. Four of those parents expressed preference for other schools in the area, two questioned alignment to high school.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

None.

MOTION TO AJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 7:02 p.m.

Motion: Matthew Tramp Second: Dave Flatt Vote: Unanimous

Nicole Benson, David Gomez, Mallory Levins, Lois Mack, and Glen Olsen were not present to vote.