MINUTES – AS PRESENT 3/8/16 CLARK COUNY SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES EDWARD A. GREER EDUCATION CENTER, BOARD ROOM 2832 E. FLAMINGO ROAD, LAS VEGAS, NV 89121

ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION (A JOINT MEETING WITH THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES)

| February 25, 2016 | 5:32 p.m. |
|---|---|
| Members Present Albert Delgado Nicole Benson Natalie Carter Katrina Gaspar de Alba David Gomez Diane Kinsel Brian Krall Lois Mack Cyndy Mahoney Mike Malone Becky Nielson | <u>Members Absent</u> Shari Lyman Marisol Montoya |
| <u>Demographics, Zoning & GIS</u> Rick Baldwin, Director II | |
| ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA Adoption of the agenda for February 25, 2016. Motion: Mike Malone Second: Brian Krall Shari Lyman and Marisol Montoya were not present to vote. | Vote: Unanimous |
| SCHOOL ZONING FOR THE 2016-2017 SCHOOL YEAR FROM SHEILA R. TARR ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TO EDITH GAREHIME ELEMENTARY SCHOOL. Superintendent Pat Skorkowsky reviewed the rezoning to accommodate the International Studies magnet program to be implemented at Sheila R. Tarr Elementary School for Grades 1-5. | |
| PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD None. | |
| Pick Paldwin explained that students in Grades 1.4 currently assigned to S | hoila D. Tarr Elomontany School |

Rick Baldwin explained that students in Grades 1-4 currently assigned to Sheila R. Tarr Elementary School will be reassigned to Edith Garehime Elementary School. These students will receive preference in the approval process if they apply for the magnet program. Kindergarten students will retain the current Sheila R. Tarr Elementary School zone.

1

Trustee Patrice Tew expressed her appreciation for Principal Allyson Jones' efforts encouraging parents to apply, which included door to door canvasing. Trustee Tew requested the number of students who have applied to remain at Sheila R. Tarr Elementary School.

Rick Baldwin stated 792 total applications have been received for Sheila R. Tarr Elementary school, 595 of which are first choice. This exceeds the number received for the schools transitioning to magnet last year. Mr. Baldwin stated 614 applications are from students currently in the Sheila R. Tarr Elementary School area; 77 students currently attending are on Open Enrollment or Zone Variances and may show as being zoned to another school.

Public Hearing None.

Motion by the Board of School Trustees to accept the recommendation to reassign the area as described from Sheila R. Tarr Elementary School to Edith Garehime Elementary School as reflected on Board agenda item 4.01, AZAC agenda item 3.01.

Motion: Trustee Tew Second: Trustee Craner Trustee Edwards was not present to vote. Vote: 6-0, Motion Passed

SCHOOL ZONING FOR THE 2016-2017 SCHOOL YEAR FROM LOMIE G. HEARD ELEMENTARY SCHOOL TO J. E. MANCH AND MARY AND ZEL LOWMAN ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS. Superintendent Pat Skorkowsky reviewed the rezoning to accommodate the closure of Lomie G. Heard Elementary School, as voted at the last Board of School Trustees meeting, to J. E. Manch and Mary and Zel Lowman Elementary Schools.

Trustee Chris Garvey thanked staff, Rick Detisch, Director, SSD, and all who conducted a parents meeting explaining the process, especially in regard to special needs students. Trustee Garvey expressed dismay that the representative of Coral Academy stated she would not place her special needs student in Coral Academy. She requested that a watch be kept on the situation and noted her pride that our staff and schools make it known that those students are always welcome at CCSD.

Brian Krall commended the work of the principals of Mary and Zel Lowman Elementary School and J. E. Manch Elementary School for their excitement and efforts to accommodate this change.

Public Hearing None.

Motion by the Board of School Trustees to accept the recommendation to reassign the area as described from Lomie G. Heard Elementary School to J. E. Manch and Mary and Zel Lowman Elementary Schools as reflected on Board agenda item 4.02, AZAC agenda item 3.02. Motion: Trustee Tew Second: Trustee Garvey Vote: 6-0, Motion Passed Trustee Edwards was not present to vote.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD None.

Motion to adjourn5:53 p.m.Motion: Becky NielsonSecond: David GomezShari Lyman and Marisol Montoya were not present to vote.

The Trustees thanked the commission members and Rick Baldwin and his staff for their hard work.

Albert Delgado thanked the Trustees for assembling the current members of AZAC.