Minutes

Clark County School District Special Meeting of the Board of School Trustees School Board Student Advisory Committee Administrative Center, Room 242 5100 West Sahara Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89146

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

3:37 p.m.

Roll Call: Members Present

Olivia Yamamoto, Coronado High School, Chair

Wendy Obregon, Advanced Technology Academy, Vice Chair

Jacob Caldwell, Desert Oasis High School

Piper Crowley, Basic Academy of International Studies

Nathan Elam, Green Valley High School Jacklyn Gutierrez, Sierra Vista High School Makena Haugh, Arbor View High School Sabrina Hillard, Northwest Career and Technical Kayla Marshall, Desert Pines High School

Katie Membreno, Legacy High School Kenia Landazuri Nova, Valley High School

Arianna Ophir, West Career and Technical Academy

Aerin Palpallatoc, Southwest Career and Technical Academy

Rey Ruiz, Cimarron-Memorial High School

Lola Brooks, President, Board Liaison

Members Absent

Breana Adams, Silverado High School Maria Victoria Agao, Chaparral High School Ivy Chipman, Palo Verde High School Vivian DeLeon, Bonanza High School Keely Peterson, Foothill High School Chanel Pulido, Clark High School Matthew Shaps, Durango High School

Also present were: Linda Cavazos, Vice President, Board of Trustees; Dr. Jennifer Cupid-McCoy, Chief of Staff, Office of the Superintendent; Dr. Mike Barton, Chief College, Career, and Equity Officer, College, Career, and Equity Unit; Leonardo Benavides, Coordinator III, Community Engagement Unit; and Cindy Krohn, Executive Assistant, Board Office.

Flag Salute

Olivia Yamamoto led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Adopt Agenda

Adopt agenda.

Motion: Sabrina Hillard Second: Katie Membreno Vote: Unanimous

Public Comment Period

None.

Approval of Minutes

Discussion and possible action on the approval of the minutes of the March 5, 2019, meeting. *Motion to approve.*

Motion: Jacklyn Gutierrez Second: Katie Membreno Vote: Unanimous

Overview of Teaching and Learning Reorganization

Overview of the reorganization of the Teaching and Learning Unit.

Dr. Cupid-McCoy gave an overview of the Clark County School District Reorganization.

The committee members discussed AB 469, reclassified as Nevada Revised Statue 388, and how funding is allocated to CCSD.

Legislative Platform and Updates

Information and discussion on the Clark County School District's legislative platform and state legislation that could affect education.

Mr. Benavides explained the legislative process and talked about the District's legislative platform, including the supplemental platform. He also discussed bills CCSD is fighting for at the legislative session.

The committee members asked questions about the funding formula, higher education, transportation, learning strategist, accountability, retention, rap-a-round services, Pre-Kindergarten education, SB 444, Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System (NELIS), and Opportunity 180.

Career and College Readiness

Information and overview of career and college opportunities for students of the Clark County School District.

Dr. Barton discussed the career and college opportunities for students in Clark County School District as well as resources available to students.

The committee members discussed Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), National Clearing House, Armed Forces, diploma type qualifications, publications class, and expected college attendance.

Future Meeting Topics

Discussion on topics that can be presented at future meetings of the School Board Student Advisory Committee.

Committee members asked to cover dress code at the next meeting.

School Board Liaison – Feedback and Topics

Trustee Cavazos told the students she was impressed with the diversity of the questions and feedback given. She told committee members that she will be the new liaison for the School Board Student Advisory Committee next school year.

Public Comment Period

Jackie Valley invited the committee to attend an Education Council Meeting being hosted by the Nevada Independent, on April 13, 2019.

Adjourn: 4:54 p.m.

Motion: [inaudible] Second: Jacob Caldwell Vote: Unanimous