MINUTES - AS PRESENTED 11/12/19

CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES

ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION EDWARD A. GREER EDUCATION CENTER, BOARD ROOM 2832 E. FLAMINGO ROAD, LAS VEGAS, NV 89121

October 29, 2019 9:31 a.m.

Roll Call: Members Present

Albert Delgado Dave Flatt

David Gomez (arrived at 9:39 a.m.)

Diane Kinsel

Mallory Levins (arrived at 9:41 a.m.)

John Mismas Matthew Tramp Colleen Wilson-Pappa

Rachel Wren (via phone 9:39 a.m.in route, arrived at 9:48 a.m.)

Rick Baldwin, Director II Tracy Murphy, Coordinator IV Steve Burda, GIS Coordinator III Sheri Garbiso, Senior GIS Analyst

Ray Negrete, Transportation Coordinator IV

FLAG SALUTE

ADOPTION OF AGENDA.

Adoption of the agenda for October 29, 2019.

Motion: Dave Flatt Second: Diane Kinsel Vote: Unanimous

David Gomez, Justin Hepworth, Mallory Levins, Lois Mack, Becky Nielson, and Rachel Wren were not present to vote.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

None.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES.

Approval of the minutes for October 22, 2019.

Motion: Colleen Wilson-Pappa Second: Dave Flatt Vote: Unanimous

David Gomez, Justin Hepworth, Mallory Levins, Lois Mack, Becky Nielson, and Rachel Wren were not present to vote

REPORTS

None.

Members Absent

Justin Hepworth

Becky Nielson - Excused

Lois Mack

EVALUATE SCENARIO(S) FOR FOCUS AREA E1 FOR ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS.

Rick Baldwin presented Scenario 2 for Focus Area E1 to establish an attendance boundary for the new elementary school at El Capitan Way and Mountains Edge Parkway opening 2020 and evaluate the existing attendance boundary of William V. Wright Elementary School.

Albert Delgado explained the scenario. He stated Scenario 1 leaves Wright Elementary School too low. Albert mentioned Justin Hepworth had also expressed concerns with the new growth in the area. Mr. Delgado asked if staff had the current enrollment for Wright Elementary School.

Rick Baldwin stated as of today's date he did not have current enrollment of Wright Elementary School. However, he could have it available for next week.

Ray Negrete stated that there is an area near the Wright Elementary School attendance boundary that only has limited access and busses would be better utilized if the students in that area were to be reassigned to a school east of the area. He requested AZAC to review that area.

David Gomez asked if the district would save money if the area were to be added to Focus Area E1 and possibly be reassigned.

Ray Negrete said it would save the district money.

EVALUATE SCENARIO(S) FOR FOCUS AREA E3 FOR ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS.

Rick Baldwin stated that Focus Area E3 for J.T. McWilliams, Red Rock, and Twin Lakes Elementary Schools were on the bring back for evaluation list. He explained that after evaluating the capacities of the schools it was found that reassignment would not benefit any of the schools.

David Gomez stated he was in agreement with Rick Baldwin.

EVALUATE SCENARIO(S) FOR FOCUS AREA M4 FOR MIDDLE/JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOLS.

Rick Baldwin stated that Focus Area M4 for Francis H. Cortney Junior High School and Kathleen and Tim Harney Middle School was also on the bring back for evaluation list. He explained that after evaluating the enrollment of the schools it was found that Harney Middle School enrollment numbers have dropped. Rick explained that the students in the area are attending the new magnet school. Mr. Baldwin recommended not reassigning Harney Middle School.

Diane Kinsel agreed with Rick Baldwin. She would like to give it more time.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Susan Echols, Harney Middle School, Principal, stated that Harney Middle School enrollment numbers had dropped significantly. She mentioned the school is losing an administrator next year, leaving them with only 4 administrators. Ms. Echols stated that while Harney Middle School lost over 200 students to the magnet at Mike O'Callaghan Middle School, her school gained the Severely Emotionally Challenged (SEC) Program. The SEC program takes a significant amount of time. It takes 2 or 3 administrators in 1 classroom every day. She said if we could drop our population that would help us.

CALENDAR, DATES, AND TIMES.

Albert Delgado stated that the next meeting will be November 12, 2019.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD ON NON-AGENDA ITEMS.

None.

ADJOURN.

Meeting adjourned at 10:10 a.m.

Motion: Mallory Levins Second: Rachel Wren Vote: Unanimous

Justin Hepworth, Lois Mack, and Becky Nielson were not present to vote