MINUTES

CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES SCHOOL NAME COMMITTEE EDWARD A. GREER EDUCATION CENTER, BOARD ROOM 2832 E. FLAMINGO ROAD, LAS VEGAS, NV 89121

Monday, September 24, 2018

5:30 p.m.

Members Present
Deanna Wright, Chair
Chris Garvey, Member
Jenn Blackhurst, Member
Bob Brown, Member
Cindy Dreibelbis, Member
Beatriz Romero, Member

Members Absent Angela Tripp, Member

WELCOME

Deanna Wright, Chair, School Name Committee, welcomed members of the Committee and audience to the School Name Committee meeting. A correction was noted to item 2.02, confirming that namesake recommendations will be selected for three schools during this meeting. Chair Wright also noted that Angela Tripp has resigned from the Committee, due to an extended medical leave.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Adoption of the agenda for September 24, 2018. Motion: Garvey Second: Romero Vote: 6-0

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approval of the minutes of June 18, 2018.

Motion: Brown Second: Dreibelbis Vote: 6-0

2018 CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FINALISTS. Discussion and possible action to review the nine finalists from the 2018 Call for Nominations and forward a recommendation to name three new elementary schools to open in fall 2019 for approval to the Board of School Trustees.

Chair Wright explained that the school planned for the Chapata and Casady location has been delayed. That school location will likely not open in fall 2019, however, three namesakes will be selected as planned.

Chair Wright also explained that finalists Barry and June Gunderson have requested to remove their names from consideration for this round of school naming.

The Committee received presentations from representatives of the eight remaining finalists, as follows:

Finalist: Sandra Bonnett Abston
 Finalist: Margery Gill
 Finalist: Gary A Gray
 Presenter: Tim and Kathy

Finalist: Gary A. Gray
 Finalist: Earl Norton Jenkins
 Presenters: Tim and Kathy Harney
 Presenters: Gary and Debbie Miller

Finalist: Dr. Bruce E. Miller
 Finalist: Francie D. Summers
 Presenters: Senator Richard Bryan and Dr. Kay Carl
 Presenters: William "Bill" Pierce and Chris Summers

Finalist: Helen Anderson Toland
 Presenter: Judge Karen Bennett

Finalist Alma Garcia Vining
 Presenter: Teresa Toplak

As prescribed in the Naming of Schools and Education-Related Facilities Procedural Guide, the Committee voted via ballot to select names for the new school facilities. Six separate votes were held. The three names that received the required four or more votes, per the procedural guide, were (in alphabetical order):

- Sandra Bonnett Abston
- Earl Jenkins, and
- Helen Anderson Toland.

These three names will be recommended to the Board of School Trustees for final approval.

Motion: Brown Second: Romero Vote: 6-0

REVIEW OF CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT POLICY 7223 NAMING OF SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION-RELATED FACILITIES. Discussion and review of Clark County District Policy 7223 Naming of Schools and Education-Related Facilities to forward a recommendation for approval to the Board of School Trustees.

As requested during the meeting on June 18, 2018, the Committee reviewed language for a proposed change to Policy 7223 Naming of Schools and Education-Related Facilities. The Committee reiterated previous discussion that that they felt schools should be named in perpetuity and that due to the costs involved, the decision to rename a school should not be taken lightly. The Committee agreed to forward the recommendation to the Board of Trustees at an upcoming meeting.

Motion: Brown Second: Dreibelbis Vote: 6-0

APPROVE AGENDA PLANNING AND FUTURE MEETINGS

The Committee confirmed that the next meeting will be held in early 2019 to review plans for the Call for Nominations to name schools scheduled to open in fall 2020.

Chair Wright recognized committee members Bob Brown, Jenn Blackhurst, and Cindy Dreibelis and thanked them for their service, each having served the limit of two consecutive two-year terms. New members will begin service on the School Name Committee in October 2018.

PUBLIC HEARINGS/RESPONSE TO PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

ADJOURN: 7:00 p.m.

Motion: Brown Second: Garvey Vote: 6-0