Senate Bill 269
SB 269 goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2015. The new Nevada law requires students to attend school regularly in order to apply for and keep their driver's licenses and learner's permit.
Under the new law, students under the age of 18 who wish to apply for a learner's permit or driver's license must submit to the DMV office at the time of application a completed DMV-301 form signed by a school official. This form will verify that the applicant has attended at least 90 percent of the school days in the current semester -- or they did not miss more than seven days of a block schedule and 10 days of a non-block schedule.
The DMV-301 form is available at schools, DMV offices and can be downloaded at ccsd.net/driverslicense. If the student does not meet the minimum attendance requirement he/she will be unable to apply until the next semester, provided they meet the 90 percent attendance requirement.
HABITUAL TRUANTS: Students who are deemed habitual truants (three or more unapproved absences) could either lose their license or be ineligible to get a license for a minimum of 30 days for the first offense and 60 days for the second offense, regardless of their attendance status in the current semester.
Students who turn 18 during the suspension will be required to complete the terms of the suspension.
Students whose licenses or permits are suspended due to poor attendance must surrender their license or permit to school officials under Nevada law.
Click here to obtain a DMV 301 form
Read more from DMV's website
Read Superintendent Skorkowsky's blog entry on the matter.
Click here for more detailed information on the Senate bill.
Read the minutes regarding SB 269 from the Nevada Legislature website