School Board Committees

Attendance Zone Advisory Commission (AZAC)

  • The purpose of this commission is to bring school zoning recommendations to the full Board. Each Board member appoints two members from his or her District.
  • Committee members include: Matthew Tramp, Chair, Dave Flatt, Vice Chair, Anna Binder, Lydia Dominguez, Nicholas Fedei, Diane Kinsel, Noé Orosco, John Shea, Tim Vicario, Rudy Zamora.

Audit Advisory Committee

  • The purpose of this committee is to advise the Board in strengthening accountability for stewardship and efficient use of public funds; provide a communication link between external and internal auditors and the Board of Trustees; enhance transparency of the District's financial operations; and improve public trust in the honesty and integrity of its public officials.
  • Committee Bylaws and Calendar
  • Committee members include: Anna Marie Binder, Elizabeth Hammer, Maegan Hilton, Joshua Robinson, Joseph Throneberry.

Bond Oversight Committee (BOC)

  • The purpose of this committee is to provide input on the distribution of the district's 1998 bond funds. Each Board member appoints one committee member from their District. The district also nominates members of the committee.
  • Board liaison is Trustee Katie Williams.
  • Committee members include: Alfonso Lopez, First Vice Chair, Jeana Blackman-Taylor, Second Vice Chair, Abraham Camejo, David Flatt, Michael Flores, Byron Goynes, Robert Gurdison, Chad Konrad, Nicole Lehman-Donadio, Todd Petersen, Yvette Williams.

Oversight Panel for School Facilities

  • The purpose of this panel is to examine and make recommendations for financing the costs of new construction, design, maintenance and repair of school facilities. Board liaison is Trustee Irene Bustamante Adams.
  • Elected Local Government members include: Councilwoman Carrie Cox - City of Henderson, Councilwoman Ruth Garcia-Anderson - City of North Las Vegas, Mayor Carolyn Goodman - City of Las Vegas, Councilwoman Sherri Jorgensen - Boulder City, Mayor Allan Litman - City of Mesquite, Commissioner Tick Segerblom - Clark County.
  • Board of School Trustees appointed members include: Greg Korte - Construction Project Financing/Cost Estimation, Eric Giles (Chair) - Structural/Civil Engineering, James Halsey (Vice Chair) - Construction/Public Works, Michael Longi - Gaming, Anna Slighting - General Public.

School Name Committee

  • The purpose of this committee is to review naming nominations for unnamed Clark County School District facilities, including schools, central office locations and areas within schools (for example, libraries and sports facilities).
  • Two School Board trustees serve as members of the committee: Lisa Guzmán (committee chairperson) and Irene Bustamante Adams. The other committee members, who are appointed by the superintendent, include: Dr. Kathi-Anne Rozek, Jeremy Lawson, Meredith Freeman, Shelley Berkley, and Javier Trujillo.

Selection Process for Sex Education Advisory Committee

The Clark County School District Board of Trustees Sex Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) is accepting applications of interest from individuals wishing to join this committee. The SEAC has vacancies for religion and one student. For information regarding the Selection Process, please review the following link here (PDF).

Individuals wishing to join this committee please follow the Sex Education Advisory Committee Application here.

Sex Education Advisory Committee

  • The purpose of the committee is to make recommendations to the Board regarding content and materials that are contained in sex education units.
  • Committee members include: Garet Benavides, Zachariah Brown, Amanda Knowles, Dennis Lawrence, Elizabeth Ornelas, Erica Reynolds, and Jacqueline Davania-Williamson.

Sex Education Advisory Committee Recommending Committee

  • The purpose of this committee is to make recommendations to the Board on membership to the Sex Education Advisory Committee.
  • Committee members include: Margy Feldman, Lindsey Dalley, Ender Austin, Stavan Corbett, Julie Vigil, Nicole Hollimon, and Donna West.

Government committees with School Board representation

Southern Nevada Regional Planning Commission (SNRPC)

  • The purpose of this regional commission is to develop a comprehensive regional policy plan for balanced economic, social, physical, environmental and fiscal development, as well as orderly growth management of the region.
  • Board liaison is Trustee Katie Williams.

Debt Management Commission

  • The purpose of this commission is to secure timely and adequate funding to meet cash flow requirements for construction projects throughout Clark County, including other government entities beyond the school district.
  • Board liaison is Trustee Katie Williams.

State or national affiliates

Council of the Great City Schools

  • The purpose of this organization is to advocate for the nation's large urban school districts and their children.
  • Board liaison is Trustee Lola Brooks.

Nevada Association of School Boards (NASB)

  • The purpose of this organization is for members of school boards from throughout the state to work together on education issues that impact all Nevada schools and students.
  • This organization is comprised of school districts from throughout the state of Nevada.
  • Board liaisons are as follows: Trustee Lola Brooks, Trustee Lisa Guzmán, and Trustee Brenda Zamora.

Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association (NIAA)

  • The purpose of this association is to promote, control, supervise, and regulate all interscholastic athletic events and other interscholastic events in Nevada's public schools.
  • Board of Control members include Trustee Linda P. Cavazos, Ron Guerzon, Kevin McPartlin, Deanna M. Riddle, and Pam Sloan.

Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)

  • The Trustee liaison sits on the Vegas PBS board and ensures that other trustees, acting in their capacity as FCC licensees, are aware of national programming policies affecting Vegas PBS.
  • Board liaison is Trustee Linda P. Cavazos.

America's Public Television Stations (APTS)

  • The Trustee liaison to this organization ensures that other Trustees, acting in their capacity as FCC licensees, are aware of legislative and regulatory issues affecting Vegas PBS, and assists with joint lobbying activities with Southern Nevada Public Television.
  • Board liaison is Trustee Linda P. Cavazos.

National or local boards/committees on which the Board traditionally participates

Public Education Foundation

  • The mission of the Public Education Foundation is to mobilize community and global resources to support and impact public education through initiatives, programs, and promising practices designed to improve student performance and advance quality educational opportunities for all children.
  • Board liaison is Trustee Lola Brooks